anything you can do, I can do better

I was in the gym the other day, having what turned out to be a personal coaching session with an instructor. It was meant to be a group session but no one else had turned up for the class. During the session we got chatting and I mentioned how doing leg lunges was my weakest area and that everyone else seemed to be so much stronger in their legs. He replied: “don’t compete with anyone else – just compete with yourself.”

I know these are wise words from him – but I do forget sometimes. I guess because in one way it’s been a positive experience trying to keep up with other class members, some of whom are decades younger than myself. I’ve pushed myself that bit harder to keep up and have probably progressed faster as a result. So having a bit of healthy competition can bring out the best in us.

A problem arises though when we become locked into and become dependent on having to be the best to gain approval or when we start to compare ourselves unfavourably with others.

Approval seeking is exhausting and stressful and comparing yourself unfavourably with others can be discouraging and is one the of fastest ways to lower your self esteem. I know this first hand! For the last 4 months I have followed a healthy low calorie diet to lose weight. Occasionally I come across articles or advertisements on the subject of weight loss and can feel my heart sinking when I hear people talking about how their clothes are now falling off them because of all the weight they have lost.

These people are to be congratulated of course – it’s hard work losing weight! However, while I have lost weight slowly and steadily, my clothes aren’t falling off me yet and so at times I’ve fallen into the comparison trap and forgotten that my success is not dependent on the achievement of others.

True success is not about competing with others but about competing with yourself. To strive to be and do the best that you can, is the best that you can do, and is the true measure of success.

Bookmark and Share

~ by Sandstorm on June 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “anything you can do, I can do better”

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Losing weight slowly is the way to go. I’ve noticed that the faster people lose weight, the faster they put it back on after they’ve finished dieting. Going slow gives your mind, body and life time to adjust.

  2. you are so right! as ever! great blog post Janice xxx

  3. Hi Paulina, that’s a good point about giving your mind, body and life time to adjust. I’m not just trying to lose weight I’m also developing a healthier way of eating and that takes time to learn about nutrition and how my body works.

    Hi Sarah, thanks for your comments…you may be encouraging me to write more!

Leave a Reply

 
