bye bye doritos

bye bye doritos

bye bye doritos

Having this full unopened bag of Doritos in my kitchen is a remarkable and rare occurence. What is even more remarkable though is that it is past it’s sell by date. I tried taking a picture of the ‘Best before’ date on the back of the bag but the camera didn’t seem to want to focus on the small writing. Or maybe it was because my hands were trembling with the thought that I was about to throw out a full uneaten bag of Doritos.

I’d bought this bag about a month ago in preparation for my friend Jenny coming round for drinks so that we would have something to nibble on. In the end we went out for dinner so we never got round to opening the bag that evening.

Now; normally, over the course of the next couple of days I would have devoured the lot – even though it is a big family sized bag. You see I love crisps, Doritos, Walkers salt and vinegar (my favourite), those little matchstick ones…anything that’s crunchy and salty I could eat until the cows come home. The problem is they are packed full of calories. That bag of Doritos has over 1,000 calories in it and I would usually be eating half a bag a day! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not blaming Doritas – Doritos are lovely…but I just didn’t have the will power to just eat a small amount each day or now and again. If they were in my kitchen I would eat them…ALL of them, in as short a time as possible.

But something weird has happened…a good weirdness I think. Ever since I have started to consciously take more care of my health i.e: eat more fresh raw fruit and vegetables, drink more water, do more exercise etc., I have been losing weight, slowly, but steadily – about 1lb a week. I am becomming fitter and can now get through a whole intense aerobics class without panicking that I am going to have a heart attack. The more I move, the more I want to move. The more I eat fresh as opposed to processed food the more in tune I feel with my body – it’s like I am listening to it and it’s shouting and celebrating along with me. I actually get cravings for oranges! It’s like I am now truly loving myself!

mmmmmh…so this is what that actually means!

So for the time being it’s bye bye Doritos…and hello popcorn, blueberries, apples, oranges, spring onions, beetroot, tomatoes, cucumber, broad beans, peas, spinach, lettuce, asparagus, broccoli, celery, parsley…my body loves you!

~ by Sandstorm on June 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
